Scenes of Clerical Life (unabridged)

Audio Sample

George Eliot

Scenes of Clerical Life

Read by Clare Wille


In the quiet world of rural English clergy, lives are full of challenges, conflicts, desires and expectations. George Eliot’s first published work of fiction (1857) comprises three separate stories and has the hallmarks of her famous later works – her gentle wit and clever satire, her psychological insight, and her keen observation of human nature and frailty. These are beautifully written and poignant tales, set in and around the fictional Midlands town of Milby.

Reverend Amos Barton has a tough time as the new curate in Shepperton, in The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton; in Mr Gilfil’s Love Story, Maynard Gilfil is in love with an Italian orphan called Tina, who becomes the central focus of the story; and in Janet’s Repentance, Edgar Tryan, an evangelical, helps Janet to overcome the abuse of her husband.

Scenes of Clerical Life opens the curtain on one of the greatest Victorian novelists.

  • Running Time: 15 h 06 m

    Download PDF booklet

    More product details
    Digital ISBN:978-1-78198-486-4
    Cat. no.:NA0598
    Produced by:John Foley
    Edited by:Andrew Riches
    Released:January 24
  • Listen to this title at

    Listen to this title at the Naxos Spoken Word Library

Due to copyright, this title is not currently available in your region.

You May Also Enjoy
Recently viewed

See more Classic Fiction

NAB Articles